More Options

Ryan Reardon of JCIB Recognized

Alabama Teachers Recognized for Enhancing Student Learning in Math and Science
Posted on 04/13/2016
This is the image for the news article titled Alabama Teachers Recognized for Enhancing Student Learning in Math and Science

Six Secondary School Teachers Named Presidential Finalists

Montgomery, Ala. – Six Alabama teachers are finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) – the nation’s highest honors for K-12 mathematics and science teachers. The awards recognize teachers for contributions to the classroom and to the profession. This year’s awards honor secondary (Grades 7-12) school teachers.


Alabama’s Presidential Finalists are:


Mathematics Finalists

§  Angela Manning, Handley High School, Roanoke City School System

§  Joel White, Brooks High School, Lauderdale County School System


Science Finalists

§  Wendy Bramlet, Tuscaloosa Magnet Middle School, Tuscaloosa City School System

§  Nancy Caffee, Cleveland High School, Blount County School System

§  Ryan Reardon, Jefferson County IB School, Jefferson County School System

§  Krista Ross, Saraland High School, Saraland City School System

Alabama’s Presidential Finalists will be recognized Thursday, April 14, 2016, by the Alabama State Board of Education at 10 a.m. in the Gordon Persons Building Auditorium, 50 N. Ripley Street, Montgomery. After the board meeting, they will be honored at an awards luncheon at 11:45 a.m. at the RSA Plaza Terrace, 770 Washington Ave., 6th Floor.

Each Presidential Finalist will receive the National Science Foundation (NSF) Certificate of Honor in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The awards luncheon is sponsored by the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE), the NSF, the Association of State Supervisors of Mathematics, the Council of State Science Supervisors, and the White House Office of Science and Technology.

Enacted by Congress in 1983 and administered by the NSF on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, the PAEMST program identifies eligible K-12 teachers who exemplify the highest standards of mathematics and science teaching. Since 1983, more than 4,300 teachers have been recognized for their contributions to mathematics and science education.


To learn more about the awards program, visit, or contact Dr. Carolyn Townsend, Office of Student Learning, Alabama State Department of Education, 334-353-1191 or