More Options

2017-2018 TOY Banquet

2017-2018 Teachers of the Year: Spotlighting Teaching Excellence & Professionalism in the Classrooms of Jefferson County Schools
Posted on 03/27/2017
This is the image for the news article titled 2017-2018 Teachers of the Year: Spotlighting Teaching Excellence & Professionalism in the Classrooms of Jefferson County Schools2017-2018 McDonald's Teacher of the Year Banquet | Tuesday, March 21, 2017 | The Florentine Building

Spotlighting Teaching Excellence & Professionalism in the Classrooms of Jefferson County Schools


Teacher of the Year Banquet

JEFCOED Teacher of the Year Finalists

View Each Finalist's Story Here

Elementary (Pre-K through 5th Grade)
Congratulations to Dr. Tara Foster, NBCT for being selected as the 2017-2018 JEFCOED Elementary Teacher of the Year!

Elementary Teachers

 Dr. Tara Foster, NBCT  2nd Grade Math  Brighton School
 Alicia Smith  5th Grade Concord Elementary School
 Dr. Perry Phillips, NBCT  4th & 5th Grades Greenwood Elementary School
 Angela Moorer  Library Media Gresham Elementary
 Valerie Agee 4th Grade Irondale Community School

Secondary (6th Grade through 12th Grade)
Congratulations to Mrs. Malysa Chandler for being selected as the 2017-2018 JEFCOED Secondary Teacher of the Year!

Secondary Teachers

Alan Tidwell Autism Behavioral Unit Burkett Center
Jessica Silas 9-12 Mathematics Corner High School
Wandra Henry, NBCT 9-12 Career Tech Minor Middle School
Casey Gillespie, NBCT 6-8 Visual Art Rudd Middle School
Malysa Chandler 9-12 Science Shades Valley High School

Additional School Level Nominees

Amy Pressley Adamsville Elementary School
Vickie Brymer Bagley Elementary School
Zephaniah Allen Bragg Middle School
Susan Grammer Brookville Elementary School
Carmen Hughes Bryan Elementary School
Yanique Rolingson Center Point Elementary School
Delphine Rowe Center Point High School
Nichole Jones Chalkville Elementary School
Tiffany Payne Clay Elementary School
Sonya Sherer Clay-Chalkville High School
Amanda McLaughlin Clay-Chalkville Middle School
Jennifer Rouse Corner Middle School
Carolyn Fisher Crumly Chapel Elementary School
Catherine Whyte Erwin Intermediate School
Sohelia McKay Erwin Middle School
Linda Peters Fultondale Elementary School
Matt Oberneder Fultondale High School
Jamie Warmack Gardendale Elementary School
Patricia Merritt Gardendale High School
Erin Veasey Hillview Elementary School
Cheryl Lynch Hueytown Elementary School
Amanda Bryant Hueytown High School
Gwinda Abernathy Hueytown Middle School
Angelique Sharpe  Irondale Middle School
Taylor Parsons JCCLC
Lisa Gray Johnson Elementary School
Miyoko Kelley Lipscomb Elementary School
Emily Callaway McAdory Elementary School
Suzanne Freeman McAdory High School
Richell Craig Minor Community School
Domita Clarke Minor Middle School
Rodney Ragland Mortimer Jordan High School
Racquel Tubbs Mount Olive Elementary School
Shawna Davis North Highland Elementary School
Brittany Landers North Jefferson Middle School
Heather Baughn Oak Grove Elementary School
Stefanie Ledbetter Oak Grove High School
Rod Porterfield Pinson Elementary School
Lensey King Pinson Valley High School
Dorielle Dixon Pleasant Grove Elementary School
Nichole Hill Pleasant Grove High School
Shelbie Pittman Snow Rogers Elementary School
Ashley Barnes Warrior Elementary School
Meredith Farabee West Jefferson Elementary School

Congratulations to our new 2017-2018 Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year, our other finalists, and additional nominees! We appreciate your leadership and your service to students!