More Options

TOY State Finalists

For the First Time, Both JEFCOED Nominees for AL Teacher of the Year Have Advanced to the Sweet 16
Posted on 04/21/2017
This is the image for the news article titled For the First Time, Both JEFCOED Nominees for AL Teacher of the Year Have Advanced to the Sweet 16

State of Alabama
Department of Education
Michael Sentance
State Superintendent
of Education


State Board
of Education


Kay Ivey


Jackie Zeigler
District I


Betty Peters
District II


Stephanie Bell
District III


Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D.
District IV
Vice President


Ella B. Bell
District V


Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D.
District VI


Jeff Newman
District VII


Mary Scott Hunter, J.D.
District VIII
President Pro Tem


Michael Sentance, J.D., L.L.M.
Secretary and
Executive Officer




News Release:

Contact: Erica Pippins Franklin


Montgomery, Ala.-Sixteen finalists have emerged from a group of over 140 exceptional educators from the across the state who submitted applications for the Alabama Teacher of the Year Program, one of the oldest and most prestigious award programs for teachers.


The pool will soon be narrowed down to four, and the 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year will be announced at a ceremony hosted by the Alabama State Board of Education and the Alabama State Department of Education onWednesday, May 10, 2017, at6 the RSA Plaza Terrace in Montgomery.


State Superintendent of Education Michael Sentance said, “Well-prepared, dedicated, caring, enthusiastic, and innovative elementary and secondary teachers are essential to achieving excellence in Alabama’s schools. The 16 Alabama Teacher of the Year finalists are shining examples of professionalism and dedication to Alabama’s most valued asset – its children.”


Alabama’s Teacher of the Year spends the majority of the school year serving as a full-time ambassador for education and the teaching profession as well as presenting workshops to various groups. Additionally, Alabama’s representative is a candidate for the National Teacher of the Year.


Speaking on her experiences as a previous finalist and as Alabama’s current Teacher of the Year, Dana Jacobson said, serving this year as the 2016-2017 Alabama Teacher of the Year “has been both a gift and a responsibility, an honor and a privilege.”


“This year has been one of the top learning experiences of my life and has validated what I believe: Visionary teachers across the state – with support from courageous administrators – are collaborating to find innovative ways to engage students and prepare them for success in the future, and layers of resources to support teachers and students yield amazing results,” Jacobson said, noting that throughout the year, people have stopped her to share stories of those outstanding teachers who changed their lives.


“To elevate the teaching profession and student success, we must share our stories and collaborate with all stakeholders as together we move education in our state and country forward,” she said. “Please join me in congratulating the 16 district finalists who represent shining stars in classrooms across Alabama. As these teachers step forward to share their stories, I know that the dialogue about education will be enriched, broadened, and strengthened.”


An elementary and secondary teacher was named from each of the eight Alabama State Board of Education districts in March. Local board of education members, a local superintendent or representative, the current district Teachers of the Year, and a representative from higher education served as committee members in selecting nominees.


Alabama Teacher of the Year Program

2017-2018 District Teachers of the Year








Chasity Collier



Dawes Intermediate School


Mobile County School System




Charlotte D. Hartley



Montana Street Magnet School


Dothan City School System




Ami Reeves Brooks


Indian Valley Elementary School


Sylacauga City School System




Dr. Tara M. Foster



Brighton Middle School


Jefferson County School System




Jean Renae Allen



Pike Road School


Pike Road City School System





Erica Rutherford



Cullman City Primary School


Cullman City School System




Amy Foster Anderson



Crestline Elementary School


Mountain Brook City School System





Mary M. Tate



Mt. Carmel Elementary School


Madison County School System









Jamie Nicole Minsoso


Daphne High School


Baldwin County School System




Emily S. Sassano



Benjamin Russell High School


Alexander City School System




Robert Paul McEwan



Hoover High School


Hoover City School System




Natalie Ann Roig



Paul W. Bryant High School


Tuscaloosa City

School System




Monica Pontoo



Bullock County High School


Bullock County School System




Mickie Wafler Gibbs



Arab Junior High School


Arab City School System




Malysa Ornett Chandler



Shades Valley High School



Jefferson County School System




Thomasena R. Garner



Liberty Middle School


Madison City School System






Gordon Persons Building • P.O. Box 302101 • Montgomery, AL 36130
Telephone(334)242-9700• Fax(334)242-9708• Web