More Options

AL Superintendent's Teacher Cabinet

Clay-Chalkville HS Teacher and AL Teacher of the Year, Dana Jacobson is Selected for the Inaugural State Superintendent's Teacher Cabinet
Posted on 05/01/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Clay-Chalkville HS Teacher and AL Teacher of the Year, Dana Jacobson is Selected for the Inaugural State Superintendent's Teacher Cabinet

State of Alabama
Department of Education
Michael Sentance
State Superintendent
of Education


State Board
of Education


Kay Ivey


Jackie Zeigler
District I


Betty Peters
District II


Stephanie Bell
District III


Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D.
District IV
Vice President


Ella B. Bell
District V


Cynthia McCarty, Ph.D.
District VI


Jeff Newman
District VII


Mary Scott Hunter, J.D.
District VIII
President Pro Tem


Michael Sentance, J.D., L.L.M.
Secretary and
Executive Officer




News Release:

Contact: Malissa Valdes-Hubert

The Alabama State Department of Education Announces the Inaugural State Superintendent's Teacher Cabinet

Montgomery, Ala.- The Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) is pleased to announce the Superintendent’s Teacher Cabinet for Alabama educators. The purpose of this group is to provide a direct avenue of communication with the state superintendent to discuss important issues regarding education.The opinions of classroom teachers are of utmost importance in ensuring students in Alabama receive an excellent education.

The teachers will meet with State Superintendent Sentance approximately twice each semester, and will also be invited to attend/speak at events pertinent to elevating the teaching profession. There were several hundred applicants, reviewed by ALSDE staff and chosen by the state superintendent. The selected teachers will serve on the cabinet for one-year terms.The 2017-18 Teacher of the Year will serve a two-year term.If any Alabama teacher is named a 2017 Milken Educator Award winner, they will automatically be added to the group.

The inaugural State Superintendent’s Teacher Cabinet includes:

1.Dana Jacobson 2016-17 Alabama State Teacher of the Year (Co-Chair)

2.2017-18 Alabama State Teacher of the Year (Co-Chair)–To Be Named May 10-Two-year term

3.Roger Rose, Social Studies Teacher at Mary G. Montgomery High School, Mobile County Public School System

4.Christy Anders, 6thgrade Special Education Teacher, Muscle Shoals Middle School, Muscle Shoals City School System

5.Michael May, Science and Engineering Teacher, Athens High School

6.Erica Griffin, AP English Language and Composition Teacher, Hartselle High School, Hartselle City School System

7.Jennifer Fernandez, K-5thgrade ESL Teacher, Austinville Elementary, Decatur City School System

8.Stephanie Hyatt, Reading Teacher and AP English Teacher 9-12thgrades, Lee High School, Huntsville City Schools

9.Paige Hicks, History Teacher, Athens High School, Athens City School System

10.Aishia King, English/Language Arts Teacher, Mary G. Montgomery High School, Mobile County Public School System

11.Brandi Evans, 4thgrade Teacher, W.S. Harlan Elementary School, Covington County School System

12.Andrea Rascoe, 6thgrade Math Teacher, Saraland Middle School, Saraland City School District

13.Julie Ramsay, Reading/Reading Intervention, and English Language Arts Teacher, Rock Quarry Middle School, Tuscaloosa City School System

14.Jennifer Reaves, 6th-8thgrade Career and Technical Education Teacher, Echols Middle School, Tuscaloosa County School System

15.Darren Ramalho, Social Studies/English Teacher, Robert C. Hatch High School, Perry County Schools

16.Kristin Daniel, K-2ndgrade Art Teacher, Auburn Early Education Center, Auburn Schools

17.Robert Louis Lyda, K-2ndgrade Music Teacher, Cary Woods Elementary School, Auburn City Schools

18.Judy Hinton, Middle School Reading Teacher, Birmingham City Schools

19.Rodriquez Leonard, 7thgrade ELA Teacher, John Herbert Phillips International Baccalaureate Academy, Birmingham City Schools

20.Laura Howard, Calculus/Algebra II with Trigonometry/Algebra with Finance Teacher, Daleville High School, Daleville City Schools

21.Tammy Basaraba, 8thgrade Science, Etowah Middle School, Attalla City Schools





Gordon Persons Building • P.O. Box 302101 • Montgomery, AL 36130
Telephone(334)242-9700• Fax(334)242-9708• Web